• About Farm School

    "There are obviously two educations. One should teach us how to make a living and the other how to live."
    James Adams, from his essay "To 'Be' or to 'Do': A Note on American Education", 1929

    We're a Canadian family of five, farming, home schooling, and building our own house. I'm nowhere near as regular a blogger as I used to be.

    The kids are 18/Grade 12, 16/Grade 11, and 14/Grade 10.

    Contact me at becky(dot)farmschool(at)gmail(dot)com

  • Notable Quotables

    "If you want a golden rule that will fit everybody, this is it: Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful."
    William Morris, from his lecture "The Beauty of Life"

    "‘Never look at an ugly thing twice. It is fatally easy to get accustomed to corrupting influences."
    English architect CFA Voysey (1857-1941)

    "The world of books is the most remarkable creation of man. Nothing else that he builds ever lasts. Monuments fall, nations perish, civilizations grow old and die out; and, after an era of darkness, new races build others. But in the world of books are volumes that have seen this happen again and again, and yet live on, still young, still as fresh as the day they were written, still telling men’s hearts of the hearts of men centuries dead."
    Clarence Day

    "Anyone who has a library and a garden wants for nothing."
    Cicero

    "Histories make men wise; poets, witty; the mathematics, subtile; natural philosophy, deep; moral, grave; logic and rhetoric, able to contend."
    Sir Francis Bacon, "Essays"

    "The chief aim of education is to show you, after you make a livelihood, how to enjoy living; and you can live longest and best and most rewardingly by attaining and preserving the happiness of learning."
    Gilbert Highet, "The Immortal Profession: The Joys of Teaching and Learning"

    "Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgment."
    Walter Wriston

    "I'd like to give you a piece of my mind."
    "Oh, I couldn't take the last piece."
    Ginger Rogers to Frances Mercer in "Vivacious Lady" (1938)

    "No race can prosper till it learns that there is as much dignity in tilling a field as in writing a poem."
    Booker T. Washington

    "Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member."
    Attributed to Groucho Marx in "The Groucho Letters" by Arthur Sheekman

    "If you can't say something good about someone, sit right here by me."
    Alice Roosevelt Longworth

    "If we bring a little joy into your humdrum lives, we feel all our hard work ain't been in vain for nothin'."
    Jean Hagen as "Lina Lamont" in "Singin' in the Rain" (1952)
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • ChasDarwinHasAPosse
  • Farm School: A Twitter-Free Zone

    antitwit
  • Copyright © 2005-2016 Please do not use any of my words or my personal photographs without my express permission.

Beautiful books

I just discovered Book By Its Cover, from Julia Rothman, an illustrator and pattern designer in Brooklyn. She writes that she started the blog because

I wanted to share all the nice books I regularly notice and have collected over the years. Please email me if you have any suggestions or books you want to share.

The blog covers design and fine art books, comics, and children’s books. It’s the latter section I really enjoy, though the emphasis of the blog naturally is on the illustrations and not the text.

I’ve learned about new children’s magazines, such as Anorak, “The Happy Mag for Kids”, and newfangled colouring books*, both from the UK; read about new books and more about old favorites (we have an embarrassingly large collection of the “double” Dandelion Books, which I’ve found at garage sales and the Goodwill shop). And then there are the old treasures by favorite artists, titles I’ve never even heard of before now.

Via Bloesem Kids, another new to me blog, all about design for children (books, clothes, toys, more) from Irene Hoofs in Kuala Lumpur.

*The coloring books don’t seem to be available in North America, at least not yet, so if you don’t have obliging friends or relatives across the pond, you can try the Book Depository and its free worldwide shipping.

4 Responses

  1. Another fantastic link. Thank you. When I come over here, I realize how much I miss those early homeschooling years with my kids. We still learn together, but it’s different when they’re older and more into spending time alone and with friends.

  2. I always think that the sheer physical beauty of books as objects — and these you’ve highlighted are quite lovely — are another reason why the codex book is so perfect and won’t be disappearing any time soon. An e-book reader just can’t do pretty very well at all, can it!?

  3. Thanks for those. I have suggested to those colouring books to Nana “across the pond” already. :-)

  4. Mrs. G., that’s one reason why I’m hoping we can continue with readalouds for another few years at least, and it’s nice to be able to entice them with ripping yarns and pretty pictures. Though I don’t mind at all when they can do math and grammar etc. on their own.

    Mark, thanks so much for stopping in from Book Depository. I completely agree with you. There’s nothing like being able to hold a beautiful book in your hands. And too, a physical book is much better to read in bed or in the bathtub! I’m forever raking books out of the children’s beds. A Kindle will never do well in this household. By the way, I’m hoping to send off my first order shortly; I’ve been sorting out (and adding to) my saved list.

    JoVE, how did you know I was thinking of you?!

Leave a Reply

